A-State to Play Troy in SBC Tournament

JONESBORO, Ark. (A-State) — The third-seeded Arkansas State baseball team will begin play in the 2014 Sun Belt Conference Baseball Championship Wednesday, May 21 at 4 p.m. against the sixth-seed Troy at Stanky Field on the University of South Alabama Campus the league announced Saturday night.

With a win over the Trojans, the Red Wolves will advance to a second-round matchup against second-seeded UT-Arlington or seventh-seeded South Alabama. An opening round loss would drop Arkansas State into the elimination bracket against the loser of that same matchup.

The second-round winner's bracket game is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. on May 22, while the elimination bracket is scheduled to get underway at 12:30 p.m. on the same day.

This is the second straight in which the Red Wolves and Trojans have met in the opening round of the tournament.

A-State secured a berth in the conference tournament for the fifth straight season and finished the year with a 30-25 overall record and an 18-12 mark in league play.

The No. 3 seed is the Red Wolves highest since 2012 when it entered the tournament as the No. 2 seed in the tournament and advanced to the championship game. The Red Wolves also enter the tournament having won 30 or more games for third time in the last five seasons.

All of A-State's Sun Belt Conference tournament can be heard on the 95.3 The Ticket and through the StateZone portion of AStateRedWolves.com. All games will also be available via webstream on the Sun Belt Digital Network on SunBeltSports.org and ESPN3.com.

Championship festivities get underway on Tuesday night with Championship Family Night, a celebration of this season's accomplishments both on and off the field for the student-athletes in attendance. There will be a home run derby, autograph session and much more for those planning on being in attendance.

2014 Sun Belt Conference Tournament Seeds (Season Record)

1. UL Lafayette (49-7, 26-4 SBC)

2. UT Arlington (30-25, 19-11)

3. Arkansas State (30-25, 18-12 SBC)

4. Texas State (28-26, 16-14 SBC)

5. WKU (29-26, 15-15 SBC)

6. Troy (24-30, 11-18 SBC) *

7. South Alabama (22-31, 11-18 SBC)

8. UL Monroe (22-34, 11-19 SBC)


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment