Only 2 Arkansas counties without burn bans

    2:19 PM, Jul 5, 2012   |    comments
    • Share
    • Print
    • - A A A +

    LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Arkansas now has 73 of its 75 counties under burn bans.

    Only Calhoun and Desha counties didn't have outdoor burning bans in place on Thursday.

    The Arkansas Forestry Commission has listed the entire state as at extreme risk of wildfires. Only scattered and small amounts of rain have fallen in recent weeks as the state plunged further into drought.

    The U.S. Drought Monitor updated its Arkansas figures on Thursday and shows 36 percent of the state in extreme drought, which is up 4 percentage points from last week. Most of the rest of the state is in severe drought.

    (Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

    Most Watched Videos