Gov. Beebe: 15 Arkansas counties declared disaster areas following tornado

    2:27 PM, Apr 11, 2013   |    comments
    • Share
    • Print
    • - A A A +
    Church damaged in Botkinburg, Arkansas. (Photo: Max Seigle, THV 11)

    LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (KTHV) - Governor Mike Beebe declared 15 counties across Arkansas disaster areas on Thursday, one day after at least one tornado swept through the state.

    The disaster area counties include: Cleburne, Conway, Garland, Hot Spring, Independence, Izard, Lincoln, Montgomery, Polk, Sharp, Stone, Union, Van Buren, White, and Yell Counties. Each of the counties received significant damage from tornado and storm effects.

    Beebe released $10,000 from the Governor's Disaster Fund to help cover the immediate response costs from these storms.

    The 'disaster area' declaration makes it easier for local governments to coordinate with the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management and other state agencies during response and repair efforts. Local governments will be able to better utilize Arkansas Department of Correction work crews to assist with debris removal.

    Damage assessments continue, and additional counties may be added to this declaration.

    (Source: Gov. Beebe's Office)

    Most Watched Videos