Timeline: Same-sex marriage in Arkansas

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (KTHV) -- The top story in Arkansas is same-sex marriage. Here is a timeline of its history in the Natural State.

In 1997, the Arkansas General Assembly passed a ban on same sex marriage - and recognition of same-sex marriages performed out of state. The bill was signed into law by Governor Mike Huckabee.

In November of 2004, Arkansas voters approved Constitutional Amendment 3, a state initiated constitutional amendment that prohibited the recognition of same-sex marriage in the state of Arkansas.

In July 2013, Wright versus Arkansas was filed with eleven same-sex couples, some of whom were married in Iowa and some were registered as domestic partners in Eureka Springs filed a state lawsuit challenging Arkansas definition of marriage and its denial of recognition to same-sex unions. The case was assigned to Circuit Judge Chris Piazza. The case survived a motion to dismiss in December 2013.

Following this in February 2014, the couples filed a motion for summary judgment in the case. Judge Piazza struck down Arkansas's same-sex marriage ban last Friday.

The first same-sex marriage license was issued on the morning of May 10 in Eureka Springs.

Sunday May 11 Arkansas Attorney General Dustin filed a notice of appeal with Piazza. He is appealing the case to the Arkansas Supreme Court. He has asked Piazza to stay his ruling as he appeals the case.

Related Stories:


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment