Update: More counties available for unemployment assistance

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (DWS) -- Pulaski, Randolph and White counties on May 5, 2014, were added to the list of Arkansas counties authorized for Disaster Unemployment Assistance as a result of the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that began on April 27, 2014. At the request of Governor Mike Beebe, President Barrack Obama previously declared Faulkner County a federal disaster area authorized for DUA.

Individuals who have temporarily lost jobs because of the disaster and do not qualify for regular unemployment benefits (such as self-employed individuals) may be eligible for Disaster Unemployment Assistance which provides unemployment benefits under Presidential Disaster Declaration FEMA 4174-DR. The first possible week of compensation is week ending May 10, 2014, and the last possible week of compensation is week ending November 1, 2014.

DUA claims may be filed at the following DWS offices:

Filing Period from May 7, 2014 through June 5, 2014
- Pulaski County: Little Rock Local Office 5401 South University (501) 682-2257

- Jacksonville: Local Office #2 Crestview Plaza (501) 982-3835

- Randolph County: Walnut Ridge Local Office 116 West Elm St. (870) 886-3556

- White County: Searcy Local Office 501 West Arch Ave. (870) 268-8601

Filing Period from May 3, 2014 through June 2, 2014

- Faulkner County Conway Local Office 1500 N. Museum Road, Suite 111 (501) 730-9894

Temporary DUA claims-taking sites may be available in other towns and cities. Individuals should contact the DWS office in their county to see if there is a temporary site that may be more convenient. DUA claims for Pulaski, Randolph and White counties must be filed during the period of May 7, 2014, through June 5, 2014, at DWS offices from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. Hours will be extended as needed. DWS offices will also provide re-employment assistance where appropriate.

Claims filed after the deadline will be considered untimely and benefits denied, unless the individual provides good cause for filing after that date.

To be eligible for benefits, individuals must have worked or have been scheduled to work in the disaster area, but because of the disaster, they no longer have a job, a place to work in the area or could not get to their place of work because of disaster damage. They also may qualify if they have been prevented from working because of an injury or illness resulting from the disaster or if they have become the head of household and need employment because the head of the household died as a result of the disaster. This benefit also may be available to self-employed individuals who have lost all or part of their livelihood as a result of the disaster.

Each claim is considered individually; therefore, individuals who believe they may be eligible should bring their Government Issued Photo Identification, Social Security Card, the name and address of their last place of employment, and documents verifying income, such as income tax statements, recent pay stubs, W-2 forms or 2013 federal income tax forms (Schedule SE and Schedule C or Schedule F) for selfemployed individuals. All DUA applicants must provide documentation within 21 days from the day the claim is filed indicating an employment record at the time of the disaster or verification that the applicant was scheduled to work.

DWS officials understand that because of property losses some claimants may not have the necessary 2013 income information. Although some delays may result without this information, DWS staff will make every effort to work with DUA claimants to confirm their income information and expedite the claims taking procedure.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment