Swanson named to Rimington Trophy spring watch list

    1:18 PM, May 21, 2013   |    comments
    • Share
    • Print
    • - A A A +

    FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (Univ. of Ark.) - Arkansas senior center Travis Swanson was named to the Spring Watch List for the 2013 Rimington Trophy, it was announced Tuesday. The trophy, awarded annually to the most outstanding center in college football, will be presented at the Rococo Theater in Lincoln, Neb. on Jan. 11, 2014.

    A native of Kingwood, Texas, Swanson is one of 44 players on the list, which includes nine players from the SEC. Swanson was a team captain last season, and was named second-team All-SEC by the Associated Press.

    The 6'5, 305 lb. senior has started all 38 games of his Razorback career and blocked for three seasons with a 3,000 yard passer, including the first season in school history with a 3,000 yard passer and a 1,000 yard rusher in 2010. Last season, the offensive line paved the way as Arkansas broke 20 Arkansas or SEC records and produced a 1,000 receiver in consecutive seasons for the first time in school history. The offensive line allowed 1.0 or fewer sacks in eight games in 2012, and ranked third in the SEC with an average of just 1.58 allowed per game. Boosted by a strong offensive line, quarterback Tyler Wilson led the SEC in passing, while Cobi Hamilton topped the conference in receptions per game and receiving yards per game.

    Swanson is on the Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List for the third consecutive season, and previously was on the Watch List in 2011 and 2012. The Rimington Trophy is awarded by determining the consensus All-American from the American Football Coaches Association, The Sporting News and Football Writers Association of America All-American teams. Jonathan Luigs was awarded the Rimington Trophy in 2007, becoming the first winner in Arkansas history.

    Most Watched Videos