Former Head Hog DeBriyn Receives Lefty Gomez Award

    5:57 PM, Nov 28, 2013   |    comments
    (Photo Courtesy: Athletic Communications)
    • Share
    • Print
    • - A A A +

    FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (Univ. of Ark.) - Former University of Arkansas baseball head coach Norm DeBriyn has been named the recipient of the 2014 Lefty Gomez Award, as announced recently by the American Baseball Coaches Association.

    DeBriyn will receive the award on Friday, Jan. 3 at the ABCA Convention in Dallas. The Lefty Gomez Award is one of the most prestigious awards in all of amateur baseball. Named after the great Lefty Gomez, the award is presented by the ABCA each year to an individual who has distinguished himself amongst his peers and has contributed significantly to the game of baseball locally, nationally and internationally.

    "Congratulations to Coach DeBriyn on being selected as the 2014 recipient of the Lefty Gomez Award," Vice Chancellor and Director of Athletics Jeff Long said. "Coach DeBriyn has served as a coach and administrator at the University of Arkansas for more than 40 years including his current role as an associate director of the Razorback Foundation. This award is reflective of his contributions to college baseball including his legendary career at the University of Arkansas. He helped build the Razorback program literally from a dirt field at the Fairgrounds to Baum Stadium, the best college baseball stadium in the nation. Beyond his tremendous accomplishments, Coach DeBriyn has been a good will ambassador for the University of Arkansas and is universally respected by his colleagues and his peers around the country. I can't think of a more deserving recipient for this prestigious award than Coach Norm DeBriyn."

    DeBriyn took over as the Razorback baseball head coach in 1970. In his 33 years at Arkansas, DeBriyn guided the Razorbacks to two Southwest Conference titles, one Southeastern Conference title, one SEC Western Division title, 15 NCAA Tournament appearances and four College World Series appearances. The Razorbacks had their best national finished in school history under DeBriyn in 1979 as they finished runner-up in the College World Series.

    Upon his retirement, DeBriyn ranked 14th all-time in career wins among NCAA Division I head coaches with a record of 1,161-650-6 and a career winning percentage of .641. He currently ranks as the UA's all-time victories leader. As a head coach, DeBriyn coached 19 All-America selections, six Freshman All-Americans, 58 All-Conference selections and 48 All-Conference Tournament selections. DeBriyn was named SEC Coach of the Year in 1999 and SWC Coach of the Year in 1978, 1982, 1983, 1987, 1989 and 1990. He was inducted into the Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame and the Razorback Hall of Honor in 1991. He was inducted into the ABCA Hall of Fame in 2003 and is also a member of the Wisconsin-Oshkosh Hall of Fame.

    Most Watched Videos