Johnson wins Daytona 500, Patrick finishes eighth

Daytona Beach, FL (Sports Network) - Jimmie Johnson has won the Daytona 500 for the second time in his already illustrious NASCAR career after holding off Dale Earnhardt Jr. on the final lap.

Johnson, the five-time Sprint Cup Series champion, grabbed the lead for the final time just before a caution came for debris on the track. He beat Earnhardt, his Hendrick Motorsports teammate, to finish line by just 0.129 seconds. Johnson won NASCAR's most prestigious race for the first time in 2006. He also became the 10th different driver to score multiple victories in this event.

Mark Martin finished third, followed by Brad Keselowski, the 2012 Sprint Cup titleholder, and Ryan Newman.

Danica Patrick became the highest finishing female in the Daytona 500 with an eighth-place run. Patrick, who started on the pole, also became the first woman to lead laps in this race. She ran in front for a total of six laps.


To find out more about Facebook commenting please read the
Conversation Guidelines and FAQs

Leave a Comment