LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (KTHV) --Mark Chepses, 35, has won the Little Rock Marathon - Men's Division, again.

Chepses, a native of Kenya and current Des Moines, IA resident finished at 2:29:42, a little later than his 2011 LR Marathon winning time of 2:24:07. Chepses said one of the reasons may have been the windier conditions prevailing at this year's event.

Despite the winds, Chepses said he "feels very good" about his race today, and "is very happy because I won again!" Chepses says he will be back for 2013.

In the women's division, Leah Thorvilson is the female winner of the Little Rock Marathon with a personal best time of 2:37:26. The 33-year-old Little Rock native said, "this is such a special day. I am just so proud."

This is Thorvilson's fourth win in the Little Rock Marathon.
In the men's division, the second place was Julius Kosgel, age 32, of Searcy, AR, with a time of 2:32:15. And third place was earned by Zach Nyambaso, age 44, of Albuquerque, NM. Zach's time was 2:34:47.

In the women's division, thirty-two-year-old Hellen Rotich of Manor, TX, was second with a time of 2:47:46. Rotich won the Little Rock Marathon in 2008.

In third place was Heather McWhirter of Glenwood, AR, with a time of 2:54:14.

Read or Share this story: