TEXARKANA, Texas (AP) - C.B. Rathburn the Third has resigned as president and CEO of Texas A&M University-Texarkana after four years on the job.

The Texas A&M University System made the announcement Thursday in a news release, adding that Rathburn will "remain in the Texarkana area and attend to personal matters."

The news release says Keith McFarland, a former president and faculty member of Texas A&M University Commerce, will serve as acting president.

The system says Rathburn, named president of the university in July 2008, has overseen major developments in infrastructure and student population.

Rathburn previously was president and CEO of Savannah Technical College in Georgia. He has also served as president and CEO of Galveston College in Galveston.

Read or Share this story: