JONESBORO, Ark. (ASU) - Senior Zack McKnight (Salyer, Calif.) has been named the winner of the Gary Withrow Award that is given annually to the Arkansas State football team's outstanding offensive lineman of the year. The award is selected by the Arkansas State coaching staff and players.

McKnight helped lead ASU to a school-record 466.7 yards of total offense per game and was part of an offensive line that was ranked 17th in the nation in sacks allowed.

McKnight will receive a crystal trophy and his name will be inscribed on the Gary Withrow Award plaque that resides in the offensive linemen meeting room.

The individual award will be presented during the ASU vs. UALR men's basketball game on Thursday, Feb. 14th, at 7:05 p.m. at the ASU Convocation Center. The award was created by the Old Warriors Foundation, which consists of former Arkansas State football players from past years.

Withrow coached ASU offensive linemen for 17 years. His pupils include former NFL players Ken Jones (Buffalo Bills) and Ray Brown, who concluded his 20-year NFL career with the Washington Redskins.

"Coach Withrow had a tough-love relationship with his players," said Tommy Walker, who played under Withrow's direction in the early 1980's. "He demanded the best out of all of his players, which meant his players giving their best at all times. If he didn't feel like you were giving 110 percent, you would be replaced in the lineup."

Winners of the Gary Withrow Award:

2003 - Kimani Jones

2004 - Steven Gibbs

2005 - Tanner Jenkins

2006 - Tanner Jenkins

2007 - Matt Mandich

2008 - Matt Mandich

2009 - Derek Newton

2010 - Sifa Etu

2011 - Tom Castilaw
2012 - Zack McKnight

Read or Share this story: