From Southland Conference:

FRISCO, Texas - Central Arkansas senior Julia Roth was named the 2012-13 Southland Conference Women's Golfer of the Year after a vote of the league's head coaches and sports information directors, the league office announced Monday in conjunction with the release of the all-conference teams.

Roth is the third UCA golfer to be named golfer of the year, joining Rebecca Sorensen (2010) and Nichole Forshner (2008, 09). A native of Karlskrona, Sweden, Roth is a three-time all-conference selection and joins Forshner as the only Bears to earn first-team all-conference two times. Roth averaged a score of 74.00 in 29 rounds of play this season. In 10 tournaments, Roth finished in the top 10 every single time, including wins at the Murray State Drake Creek Invitational last September and at the HBU Husky Classic, April 1-2. The senior earned a second-place finish on four different occasions and was the first golfer in Southland history to be named golfer of the month four times in one season.

Other postseason awards went to McNeese State senior Lina Lagergren, who was named newcomer of the year, Oral Roberts' Alejandra Acosta, who was tabbed the freshman of the year, and Lamar coach Brian White, who was selected as the conference's coach of the year.

Lagergren, a senior from Ahus, Sweden, is the first McNeese golfer to be named newcomer of the year after a 76.76 stroke average in 29 rounds this season. In 10 events this season, Lagergren had four top-five finishes, including a second-place tie at the Southland championship with a three-round total of 2-over par 218. She is the sixth McNeese golfer to earn first-team honors and the first since Maggie Welch earned the distinction in 2009.

Acosta, who helped Oral Roberts to a second-place tie at the conference championship in its first year in the league, earned second-team all-conference honors along with being named the league's top freshman. The Torreon, Mexico, native, averaged 77.55 strokes in 29 rounds and finished in the top 10 once with a ninth-place finish at the Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Islander Classic, Feb. 25-26. Acosta finished tied for 15th at the conference tournament.
White won his second coach of the year honor, and first since 2005, after leading the Lady Cardinals to their fourth conference championship. White and the Lady Cardinals won the conference championship by seven strokes after trailing at the conclusion of the first two rounds. With the win, Lamar will return to the NCAA regionals for the first time since the 1995 season after earning the conference's automatic bid.

Sam Houston State senior Shelby Hardy, Lamar senior Julie Aime and Lamar sophomore Nghi Ngo round out the first-team all-conference selections.

Hardy earned her fourth all-conference honors after becoming the first Bearkat since 2007 to win individual medalist honors at the Southland championship. A native of San Saba, Texas, Hardy set a conference tournament record with a three-round total of 4-under par 212 to win by six strokes. Hardy averaged 75.03 strokes in 31 rounds on the season and notched eight top-10 finishes including three individual titles. Hardy is only the second Sam Houston golfer to earn first-team all-conference three times, joining Raman Saran (2002-04).

Aime, a three-time all-conference selection, ranked second in the conference with a 74.91 stroke average in 32 rounds. The senior from Cannes, France, had four top-two finishes on the season that included a win at the ULM Fred Marx Invitational last September. Aime finished tied for eighth with Roth at the Southland championship with a 7-over par 223.

Ngo, a Hochiminh City, Vietnam, native, earned all-conference honors for the first time in her career after finished tied for fifth at the Southland championship with a 6-over par 222. The sophomore averaged 75.50 strokes in 32 rounds on the season with eight top-10 finishes including an individual medalist honor at the Le Triomphe Collegiate Invitational Feb. 18-19.

Earning Second-team all-conference along with Acosta are Texas A&M-Corpus Christi sophomore Vanessa Johnson, McNeese State junior McKayla Anderson, Oral Roberts junior Alheli Moreno and Sam Houston State freshman Nicole Budnik.

Lamar, McNeese, Oral Roberts and Sam Houston all had two all-conference selecetions while A&M-Corpus Christi and Central Arkansas had one apiece. Three golfers made a return appearance on the all-conference teams as Hardy earned her fourth all-conference honor while Roth and Aime each received their third career all-conference honor.

Read or Share this story: