RUSSELLVILLE, Ark. (GAC) - The Great American Conference's men's golf champions, Arkansas Tech, picked up two of the league's individual postseason awards as Brian Belz won Freshman of the Year and Luke Calcatera received his second Coach of the Year award. Southwestern Oklahoma State's Wouter MyBurgh claimed the Player of the Year accolade.

Belz and MyBurgh led the All-GAC First Team. Belz won the medalist honors at the GAC Championships and added a fourth-place showing at the Midwest Regional during his freshman season. MyBurgh finished the regular season with the lowest scoring average in the conference, 73.60. He won two tournaments - the Dave Falconer Memorial Invitational and the North Alabama Classic - in March and closed with a tie for seventh at the GAC Championships.

East Central's Dakota Robbins, Henderson State's Matt Jennings and Southern Nazarene's Blake Jackson also made the All-GAC First Team. Robbins took second at the GAC Championships and Jennings took third; both earned All-Tournament honors. Jackson tied for seventh at the event. Robbins totaled three top-10 finishes and Jennings closed the season with three top-seven finishes. Jackson registered four top-12 showings over his final five tournaments.

Jackson's teammate, Mike Hearne, headed up the All-GAC Second Team. He recorded a runner-up finish as well as a tie for third during the season. He never finished outside the top 13 in any event during the year. He twice carded a round of 65 as he recorded a 72.28 stroke average over 14 rounds.

Harding placed a pair on the Second Team - Lucas Collins and Alex Williamson. Collins led Harding with a 76.2 stroke average and he recorded a team-leading three rounds of par or better. On Friday, he earned an individual berth to the NCAA Central/Midwest Regional, a first for the program since they joined the NCAA in 1997. Williamson earned All-Tournament honors after he tied for fourth at the GAC Championships.

Southeastern Oklahoma State's Grey Blevins and Arkansas Tech's Graham Rucker rounded out the Second Team. Blevins twice finished runner-up this season. Rucker recorded four top-15 finishes and he earned All-Tournament honors at the GAC Championship as he tied Williamson for fourth place.

The Honorable Mention list included Southern Arkansas' George Adams, Henderson State's Jared Black, Southeastern Oklahoma State's Bob Perry and a pair of teammates from Southwestern Oklahoma State - Jake Duvall and Tommy Stirling.

Calcatera guided the Wonder Boys to their first GAC Men's Golf Championship as they held off the defending champion SWOSU by one shot. On Friday, Wonder Boys received an at-large berth to next week's NCAA Division II Central/Midwest Regional.

Read or Share this story: