FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (Univ. of Arkansas) - Arkansas vice chancellor and director of athletics Jeff Long will be honored as the 2013 Arkansas Headliner of the Year at the Arkansas Press Association's annual honors banquet Friday evening, June 28, in conjunction with their annual convention at the Inn of the Ozarks convention center in Eureka Springs.

Founded in 1873, the Arkansas Press Association, the oldest trade association in Arkansas, has been awarding the "Headliner of the Year" award, presented to a person who has brought good headlines to the State of Arkansas, since 1983. Past recipients include Hillary Clinton, Sam Walton, Jack Stephens, General Wesley Clark, Frank Broyles and Alice Walton among others.

"I am deeply humbled to be included with the long line of distinguished Arkansans who have been honored previously with this special award," Long said. "I am thankful and appreciative of the leadership and support Chancellor Gearhart, President Bobbitt, and our Board of Trustees have provided me and am grateful for their collective work on behalf of our university and our state. I want to thank the Arkansas Press Association for this honor and for the role the APA and its members continue to play in informing Arkansans and furthering the image of our state."

Earlier this month Long was named one of four Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) winners of the Under Armour Athletic Director of the Year Award. He was honored at the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) 48th Annual Convention in Orlando. In 2012, Long was a finalist for the SportsBusiness Journal Athletic Director of the Year.

Other honorees at the APA annual banquet will include veteran newspaperman at the Democrat-Gazette, Paul Smith, who will be presented the annual "Distinguished Service Award," Chad Day, a reporter from the Democrat-Gazette who will receive the "FOI Award," Anita Stafford of Camden Fairview High School who will receive the "Journalism Educator of the Year" award, four will receive the APA's "Golden 50 Service" award, and for the second year in succession, a "Golden 60 Award" will be presented.

Honorees for the awards come from nominations made by APA members and associates. The final selection of honorees is made from those nominees by the APA board of directors.

For more information regarding Razorback Athletics, please visit

Read or Share this story: