FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (AP) - The University of Arkansas says left-handed pitcher Jalen Beeks, outfielder Tyler Spoon and catcher Jake Wise have been named captains of the 2014 Arkansas baseball team.

Head coach Dave Van Horn announced the selections Monday.

Beeks was 6-2 last season with two saves and a 2.20 ERA; Spoon was a freshman All-American after hitting .288 with four homers and a team-high 49 RBI; and Wise was selected a team captain for the second straight season after throwing out 38.5 percent of the would-be base stealers who tried to steal against him and compiling a .991 fielding percentage - committing just four errors last season.

The Razorbacks open the 2014 season on Feb. 14 against Appalachian State.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Read or Share this story: