LITTLE ROCK, Arkansas — Discover Arkansas traveled to West 9th Street in downtown Little Rock to visit the Mosaic Templars Cultural Center and Museum.
Here are five things we learned from our trip.
1.) The name 'Mosaic Templars' comes from the black fraternal organization that was started in Little Rock in 1883.
2.) The center opened in 2008 at 9th and Broadway where the headquarters of the Mosaic Templars was located. A fire destroyed the original building in 2005.
3.) The center's staff is willing to travel around Arkansas to educate students and adults on Arkansas Black History. Click here if you want to learn more.
4.) One of the most recent pieces added to the museum is one of only five known copies of the original “Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass as American Slave.” There were two introductions printed in the book which makes it even more rare. Yella Dog Press donated the book after a "Made in Arkansas" story on THV11. Watch here.
5.) Museum tours are FREE but donations will always be accepted. Click here to donate. All donations are tax-deductible.