LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Arkansas' governor has asked President Donald Trump to declare a major disaster for eight counties that have been hit by historic flooding along the Arkansas River.

Gov. Asa Hutchinson asked Trump in a letter dated Thursday to declare a disaster for Conway, Crawford, Faulkner, Jefferson, Perry, Pulaski, Sebastian and Yell counties. Hutchinson wrote that preliminary assessments estimate more than $27 million is needed for temporary housing, repair, replacement housing and other needs in those counties.

Hutchinson's office said an estimated $8.5 million is needed for debris removal and emergency protective measures for state and local governments, and that the state expected additional infrastructure losses to exceed $100 million. More than 857 homes suffered major damage or were destroyed in the counties.

U.S. Senators John Boozman and Tom Cotton, and Congressmen Rick Crawford, Steve Womack, and Bruce Westerman sent a letter to President Trump and administration urging them to support Governor Hutchinson's request. 

RELATED | The impact of the Arkansas River flooding may be longer than you think

The request is for individual and public assistance.

THV11 contributed to this report.