On Wednesday, July 24, the newest Arkansas laws will go into effect. The laws include abortion restrictions, new medical marijuana rules, paid cancer leave for firefighters and more.
Below you will find a list of some of the most noteworthy laws going into effect.
Abortion restriction laws
If the United States Supreme Court overrules Roe v. Wade, this law will allow Arkansas to make abortion illegal in the state.
Prohibits abortions because the unborn child may have Down syndrome.
Bans abortions after 18 weeks except in a medical emergency or the pregnancy was caused by incest or rape.
Judge Kristine Baker is holding a hearing that challenges three of the new abortion laws.
Act 495 permits the use of a "firearm specially made or adapted for silent discharge" and Act 1051 removes machine guns, sawed-off shotguns, sawed-off rifles from the list of weapons prohibited from possessing.
Under this law a veteran who "voluntarily sought" treatment at a mental health facility may obtain a concealed carry license "if a circuit court grants" their petition.
The law prohibits Arkansas cities from refusing to "cooperate with federal immigration authorities and threatening to cut off their funding if they adopt 'sanctuary' policies."
Act 844 will grant in-state college tuition to those with DACA and other immigrants visas. Act 837 grants nursing licenses to DACA students.
Medical marijuana laws
Defines that cannabidiol and tetrahydrocannabinol derived from hemp is not considered marijuana.
This law adds restriction on how medical marijuana can be advertised and the use of certain symbols.
The law allows the two state statues at the National Statuary Hall Collection to honor Daisy Lee Gatson Bates and Johnny Cash.
Although there are already laws that make robocalls illegal, more bills were passed to prohibit the practice and hold those callers more liable.
The state or local government may not compel a religious leader to turn over a written or recorded copy of a sermon or testify regarding the sermon.
This law establishes requirements for the kits as well as the testing requirements submitted to the state crime laboratory.
Level 3 or Level 4 sex offenders will not be able to participate in Halloween-related events or activities.
The law creates a paid leave program for firefighters with "occupationally caused" cancer and creates a cancer relief network.
This law will exempt the "undisclosed and ongoing investigations" of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board, the Alcoholic Beverage Control Division, and the Alcoholic Beverage Enforcement Division.
This will allow cities to establish an entertainment district that can be either permanent or temporary.
You can be hit with a $250 fine if you are caught misrepresenting your pet as a service animal. The law does not mention support animals.
Arkansas will become the first and only state in the county to have certified child abduction response teams thanks to this law.
Persons who have turned 17 will be allowed to get married in Arkansas as long as they have consent from parents and appear before a judge.
An amendment to Arkansas's Safe Haven Act allows parents to safely place their unwanted babies at a "baby box."
On the fourth Saturday of every July, Arkansas will celebrate its cowboy heritage with National Day of the Cowboy.
For a full list of laws going into effect, click here.
This article has been updated to remove the tobacco age restriction law because it doesn't go into effect until September 1, 2019.