The Arkansas Department of Education, in collaboration with the Arkansas Department of Health and Medicaid in the Schools, selected five Arkansas schools to each receive $540,000 over a five-year period to implement School-Based Health Centers.

The centers, which will be implemented at the following schools, will provide health and wellness services to students, staff, and families beginning in the 2019-2020 school year.

  • Booneville Elementary School 
  • Chicot Elementary School 
  • Fouke Elementary School 
  • Ida Burns Elementary School
  • Rose Bud Elementary School 

There are 31 other schools around the state that have school-based health centers. The centers remove physical and mental health barriers for students by offering these services on campus. The goal for school-based health centers is to help students remain healthy, thus, improving academic achievement and reducing the number of absences due to health issues.

To learn more about the school-based health center program, click here. 

RELATED: Target offering teacher discount ahead of new school year

RELATED: Arkansas school nurses now have access to overdose-reversal drug